Hey There!

dnlcwn

Just thought I'd say hello to everyone here as I'm a newbie to DE Shaving.
I recently bought a cheap DE razor, a cheap brush and some Proraso cream in the tub.

Only had 2 DE shaves but they've been pretty good so far.

I just have a question, among many, I am using my cream straight out of the bowl it's in but I'm unsure weather I need a seperate bowl to remove some cream (almond size piece) for a better lather.

I've read about both ways and wasn't sure if one was right or wrong.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Daniel.

Welcome, a lot of experienced guys on here so don't be afraid to ask questions.

Whether you lather in a bowl or on your face, it's purely personal preference.

Daniel,

Firstly welcome!

When it comes to lathering it is a little each to his own and there is also some trial and error in relation to different soaps/creams, the brush you are using, the water retention of the brush and the best water to soap/cream ratio.

Did I just make that sound REALLY complicated? You get good at that after a while ;)

Basically there is no problem dipping the brush straight into the bowl of cream to load it up. Normally you soak the brush for a while beforehand and shake off excess water before loading it with cream. The aim is generally to get an almond size worth on the brush but more generally will not hurt - you might just need a little more water if it is too stiff.

After that you can either lather directly on your face or in another bowl. Up to you entirely. I face lather partly for convenience and partly because I like the feel.

Happy shaving!

Hey Daniel :)

I started out wit ha bowl because I bought a kick arse Muhle Black porcelain bowl and it looks killer.

Secondly, and more importantly, bowl lathering gave me a lot of practice and I found it easier to work out my mix of water and stuff.

Seven months later, I just dip my brush in the cream and face lather now.